ElectraLikeMine

My answer to an extremely tight personal economy, coupled with my need to get healthy, and a desire to further lessen my carbon footprint while enjoying more of life, led to the re-discovery and subsequent clean-up of one of my favorite bikes.  I live roughly 3.2 miles from town, and it made no sense to add to the ugly statistics regarding automobile commutes (82 percent of trips five miles or less are made by personal motor vehicle).  It made tons of sense to save money, burn some calories (rather than fossil fuels), and enjoy a scenic bike ride whenever there’s a need to go to town.  My cruiser/chopper was called into service.

It was a gorgeous Monday morning and my mood was riding high (cycling pun intended).  I had prepped the backpack for the day, and located my iPod Shuffle.  I wedged my Etyomic 6i’s into my head, threw on the backpack and hit play.  The iPod was in shuffle mode, so I had no idea what was about to enter my head.  And then something wonderful happened….

7 Story Mountain by Railroad Earth (audio)

Oh lord, to see a light, but fail in strength to follow,
Sometimes it’s hard to let it go.

Oh lord, to fail in heart, and each day grow more hollow,
Sometimes I just don’t wanna know.

But the road that led me here, it’s begun to disappear.
Sometimes I wonder where I am.

Oh lord, to hear a voice, but let it fade and wallow,
Sometimes it’s hard to let it go.

Oh lord, to find the words, but keep them in and swallow,
One day the top is gonna blow.

But the road that led me here, it’s begun to disappear.
Sometimes I wonder who I am.

Oh lord, to stumble blind, for years without knowing,
Sunrise has burned my eyes again.

Oh lord to crumble quiet, watching from the silence,
Sunrise has burned my eyes again.

It’s a seven-story mountain. It’s a long, long life we live. Gonna find a light and fill my heart again.

It’s a seven-story mountain. It’s a long, long life ahead. Got to find a voice and fill my throat again.

7StoryMountain

Oh lord, to see a light, but fail in strength to follow,
Sometimes it’s hard to let it go.
Oh lord, to fail in heart, and each day grow more hollow,
Sometimes I just don’t wanna know.
But the road that led me here, it’s begun to disappear.
Sometimes I wonder where I am.
Oh lord, to hear a voice, but let it fade and wallow,
Sometimes it’s hard to let it go.
Oh lord, to find the words, but keep them in and swallow,
One day the top is gonna blow.
But the road that led me here, it’s begun to disappear.
Sometimes I wonder who I am.
Oh lord, to stumble blind, for years without knowing,
Sunrise has burned my eyes again.
Oh lord to crumble quiet, watching from the silence,
Sunrise has burned my eyes again.
It’s a seven-story mountain. It’s a long, long life we live. Gonna find a light and fill my heart again.
It’s a seven-story mountain. It’s a long, long life ahead. Got to find a voice and fill my throat again.Why this song? A tune that’s gotten me through low moments during my divorce, and that’s helped me face and surmount many sizable challenges.  A song that strikes a chord deep within me, one of those we all have that touches our soul.  Why now?  What was the chance of this happening?  A BHS (big huge smile) burst forth as I pushed the bike out the door.  The first few turns of bike pedals in a long time led to absolute bliss.

We all have these moments.  Moments SQuire Rushnell has aptly named “God Winks” .  They’re moments that touch something deep inside.  Some last only a blink, while others have a wonderful depth of duration (like my bike ride did on this day).  Some of us recognize them, while others just smile, perhaps mutter “cool”, and move on.  Many of us know they’re indicators we’re headed in the right direction, and that all is well.  Others rack them up as mere coincidence or silly happenstance.

Northern LightsWe enjoy and remember some of these moments more vividly than others, depending on how well we’ve tuned in.  As we should, because they’re not just nods or affirmations, they’re truly gifts.  At one time or another we’ve all decided to take the path less traveled (like Happy Lotus/Jewel, Dreams, Faith & Me or Serene Balance/Leap Of Faith).  Then we’ve asked ourselves if we’ve done the right thing, and wait for the answers.  And we do receive an answer to these questions, we just don’t recognize them because we’re not of a quiet mind.  We often fail to notice moments of grand affirmation because they’re so very sublime.  If you watch and listen carefully, however, you can see glimmers in the darkness, and hear whispers on the wind.  We don’t always receive them when we want to, but they’re there, arriving often when we least expect it.

I thought I’d write more about other such moments I’ve had, but decided it might block your ability to reach inside and renew a few you’ve experienced.  Suffice it to say I have many I’m fond of that I will forever cherish.  Here’s just a handful of mine to lend a spark to your own personal fire:

Papa Cardinal

Papa Cardinal

The arrow on the pipe that appeared at just the right moment, telling me I was headed in the right direction to see some of Marquette’s prettiest falls – and have a moment with my deceased father.  The appearance of a male cardinal when things are rough (my Mom and I shared a belief Dad’s spirit was in cardinals, his favorite bird).  Loons that answered one night when I asked myself some difficult questions.  The handshake when I met my wife for the very first time – a handshake I oddly, rapidly withdrew from, like I’d been shocked in some way.

When one of these moments presents itself, stop and give yourself a few more seconds to think about it.  Make it a gift to yourself by making a memory of it.  It doesn’t matter how silly you think it is.  Hell, who cares what others think when it comes to these types of things?  These are your special moments, your winks, your signposts along the journey telling you you’re going to be OK, you’ve done the right thing, you’re on the right path.

Because you are.

Maybe your bike should get dusted off too! Check out –> www.2milechallenge.com or www.1world2wheels.org

